

July 5, 2023

Senator Chuck Schumer Majority Leader U.S. Senate Washington, DC 20510

Senator Bernie Sanders HELP Committee Chair U.S. Senate Washington, DC 20510 Senator Mitch McConnell Minority Leader U.S. Senate Washington, DC 20510

Senator Bill Cassidy HELP Committee Ranking Member U.S. Senate Washington, DC 20510

Dear Majority Leader Schumer, Minority Leader McConnell, Chairman Sanders, and Ranking Member Cassidy:

The undersigned members of the Science and Technology Committee (STAC), strongly affirm our support for President Biden's nomination of Dr. Monica Bertagnolli as Director of the National Institutes of Health (NIH) and urge her rapid confirmation.

As members of STAC — a non-partisan alliance of non-profit, academic, foundation, and business leaders advocating for an increased federal focus on, and funding for science and technology — we believe that Dr. Bertagnolli's experience as director of the National Cancer Institute and as a renowned surgeon, researcher, and patient makes her highly qualified for this key role.

Dr. Bertagnolli has the leadership necessary to promote the research and development advances that are critical to the health and scientific development of our nation, both independently and in partnership with other federal agencies and the private sector.

We respectfully ask the Senate HELP Committee and members of the Senate to swiftly confirm her as the next Director of the NIH.

Sincerely,

Wille D. Noull

Bill Novelli Professor & Founder, Business For Impact Center, Georgetown's McDonough School of Business

Sudip Parikh CEO, The American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS)

MaryDoolley

Mary Woolley President & CEO, Research!America

brijanan

Keith Yamamoto Vice Chancellor for Science Policy & Strategy UCSF

Georges C. Benjamin, MD, MACP Executive Director American Public Health Association

Robert Conn Distinguished Policy Fellow & Pacific Leadership Fellow Cowhey Center on Global Transformation

Michael M. Crow President Arizona State University

Charles W. Dent Senior Policy Advisor DLA Piper LLP (US)

Arthur C. Evans, Jr., PhD CEO/EVP American Psychological Association

Dario Gil Senior Vice President and Director IBM Research

Bart Gordon Partner K&L Gates

Kristina Johnson President Emerita Ohio State University Peggy Hamburg Former Commissioner FDA

Neal Lane Senior Fellow in Science & Technology Rice University's Baker Institute for Public Policy

Alan Leshner CEO Emeritus AAAS

Erin O'Shea President Howard Hughes Medical Institute

Rafael Reif President Emeritus MIT

Jim Simons Co-Chair Simons Foundation

Elias Zerhouni Former Director National Institute of Health