decorative nodes

Statement on Chips and Science Act

July 28, 2022

Today, the Science and Technology Action Committee (STAC), a non-partisan coalition of non-profit, academic, foundation and business leaders advocating for greater focus and funding of science and technology, issued the following statement related to the House passage of the Chips and Science Act:

Today’s passage of the Chips and Science Act represents a giant leap forward for the U.S. showing it can once again lead the world in science and technology. After decades of inaction and years of pressure from the scientific community, including the Science and Technology Action Committee, lawmakers have shown they can still work together and across the aisle for the good of America and its people.

President Biden’s signature on this vital legislation will bring us closer to securing desperately needed investments in our nation’s innovation engine. These investments will power the U.S. economy, national security and global competitiveness now, and for years to come.

But our work is far from done. The world faces unprecedented challenges, from climate change to energy security to starvation, and America’s scientific leadership is critical to delivering solutions. The U.S. must lead the world in tackling the existential threats of our time. The Chips and Science Act lets the world know the U.S. is ready to act. Now, we must show we’re willing to bring all necessary resources to bear to win the fight, including securing appropriations for the programs authorized in this bill.

The Science & Technology Action Committee is a group of 22 non-profit, academic, foundation, and corporate leaders working to dramatically strengthen U.S. science and technology. The Committee is co-chaired by: Keith Yamamoto, Vice Chancellor for Science Policy & Strategy UCSF, Sudip Parikh, CEO, The American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), Mary Woolley, President & CEO, Research!America, and Bill Novelli, Professor & Founder, Business For Impact Center, Georgetown’s McDonough School of Business.