decorative nodes

Media Advisory: STAC Applauds Dr. Arati Prabhakar’s Confirmation as OSTP Director

September 22, 2022 | STAC

WASHINGTON—September 22, 2022—The Science & Technology Action Committee (STAC) today released a statement applauding the Senate’s confirmation of Dr. Arati Prabhakar’s nomination as the Director of the White House Office of Science and Technology Policy (OSTP). The Senate voted 56-40 in favor of Dr. Prabhakar’s nomination. With her confirmation, she has also become the President’s Science Advisor and a member of the President’s Cabinet — ensuring critical scientific thinking influences decisions at the highest level of government.

“Dr. Arati Prabhakar’s bipartisan confirmation as OSTP Director is a victory for the advancement of science, technology, and innovation in the United States. This pivotal position requires working across the federal government in these policy areas to drive economic growth, create jobs, and address critical threats to Americans’ public health and wellbeing. Dr. Prabhakar has the unique opportunity to unleash U.S. innovation and reassert America’s global leadership in tackling the extraordinary threats society faces today. She is the ideal scientist and leader for this crucial role.”

Dr. Prabhakar is stepping into the federal government’s top science position at a critical moment. Dr. Prabhakar’s PhD is in applied physics from the California Institute of Technology, she is the first woman to lead the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST), she spent a decade in the private sector, and she led the Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency (DARPA). This extensive experience uniquely positions her to set and implement a path forward for U.S. science and technology.

The Science & Technology Action Committee (STAC) is a group of 25 non-profit, academic, foundation, and corporate leaders working to dramatically strengthen U.S. science and technology. The Committee is co-chaired by: Bill Novelli, Professor Emeritus and founder of Business for Impact at Georgetown University and former CEO of AARP, Sudip Parikh, CEO, American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) and Executive Publisher of the Science Family of Journals, Mary Woolley, President & CEO of Research!America, and Keith Yamamoto, Vice Chancellor for Science Policy and Strategy at UCSF and President of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS).