decorative nodes

Statement: H.R. 2225 Markup – National Science Foundation for the Future Act

June 17, 2021

Mary Woolley, President and CEO, Research!America, and co-chair of the Science and Technology Action Committee, released the following statement on behalf of the Committee:

The House Science, Space and Technology Committee markup of H.R. 2225, National Science Foundation for the Future Act, is another encouraging sign that Congress is focused on and committed to bolstering our nation’s science and technology capacity. A strategic investment in S&T and STEM education, the NSF for the Future Act, if funded, would boost our nation’s capacity to combat existing and emerging societal threats and strengthen our competitiveness in the global economic arena.

With bipartisan support, the bill is a reflection of a renewed commitment to our country’s scientific enterprisethe innovation engine of our nation. Coupled with the Senate’s recently passed U.S. Innovation and Competition Act (S.1260), we are within reach of progress unseen for generations. The House must now build on this momentum and quickly pass this bill through the chamber. 

In order to fully maximize the effectiveness of our science and technology investments, we also urge Congress to appropriate necessary funding to the Office of Science and Technology Policy to motivate and incentivize critical cross-agency and interdisciplinary coordination. HR 2225 and S.1260  will put us firmly on the path to increasing federal investment in science and technology to 1.4% of GDP, as called for in the Science and Technology Action Plan.

The Science & Technology Action Committee (STAC) is a group of 25 non-profit, academic, foundation, and corporate leaders working to dramatically strengthen U.S. science and technology. The Committee is co-chaired by: Bill Novelli, Professor Emeritus and founder of Business for Impact at Georgetown University and former CEO of AARP, Sudip Parikh, CEO, American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) and Executive Publisher of the Science Family of Journals, Mary Woolley, President & CEO of Research!America, and Keith Yamamoto, Vice Chancellor for Science Policy and Strategy at UCSF and President of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS).