decorative nodes

Science Committee Applauds Lander’s Confirmation as Director of the Office of Science and Technology Policy

May 29, 2021

Keith Yamamoto, co-chair of the Science & Technology Action Committee, released the following statement on behalf of the Committee:

Yesterday was a historic day for science and technology in the United States. We heartily applaud the confirmation of Dr. Eric Lander as the Director of the Office of Science and Technology Policy (OSTP) and member of the President’s Cabinet. We are also thankful for the President’s bold funding for science and technology focused agencies and departments.

We look forward to Congress building on this momentum by passing the Senate U.S. Innovation and Competition Act and the House NSF for the Future Act to further empower our nation’s technological and scientific capacity and help ensure the U.S. remains a global innovation leader.

These actions combined represent a level of enthusiasm and support from federal policymakers unseen for generations. We look forward to continuing to work with the Administration and Congress to further the goals of the Science and Technology Action Plan, including the cross-agency and interdisciplinary partnerships needed to truly supercharge our efforts against the existential threats facing our nation and to fuel societal and economic progress for all Americans.

The Science & Technology Action Committee is a group of 22 non-profit, academic, foundation, and corporate leaders working to dramatically strengthen U.S. science and technology. The Committee is co-chaired by: Keith Yamamoto, Vice Chancellor for Science Policy & Strategy UCSF, Sudip Parikh, CEO, The American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), Mary Woolley, President & CEO, Research!America, and Bill Novelli, Professor & Founder, Business For Impact Center, Georgetown’s McDonough School of Business.